Five things to do when you’re losing yourself

A friend of mine recently came to me with a problem I’d been having myself, and I felt I had to share it with you guys as I feel like everyone thinks or feels this from time to time.

It’s that feeling that you’re not good enough, that you think no-one likes you, you’re not good at anything, and everything in your future looks bleak and unachievable. Some of us are lucky enough to have that small voice in the back of our heads say “it’s okay, you know this isn’t really true.” But others of us, aren’t. So here’s some tips on how to beat it or at least try and reverse it.

Sad Dean.

It’s okay to be a little sad from time to time – right Dean? …he says yes. 

1. Take a step back

Sometimes we get wrapped up in one project, or work, or our homelife, that we don’t step back and take a look at the bigger picture, the other options. So just go away, think about something else, or put some music on that you really like (or even a song you don’t like) that will distract you from your thoughts.

2. Do something fun

Personally I get like this when the balance between ‘work’ and ‘play’ isn’t even. So go out do something fun, or binge watch a show on TV, read a book, entice that side of you that wants to come out and play. And don’t worry about being or looking childish, everyone’s allowed to act like a child every now and then.

3. Realise that other people’s opinions don’t matter

This is something I personally struggle with. Sometimes when you’re losing yourself it’s because you worry or care too much about what other people think, it might not be about what they think about you, it could be what you did, or what you said to them two hours ago, or even an outfit you chose to wear. For me it’s the decisions I’ve made, or the plans I’ve made, what I want to do – I care too much about what others think and let them influence my decisions, when really why should I? If their opinion strikes a nerve with you, take a step back again, and think do they have a valid point? If they don’t, then move on. It’s your life, not theirs.

4. Have a clear out

You may have seen this in my post on Sunday, but I recently had a clear out of all my bookcases, and CDs etc, as well as dusted and hoovered my room, plus I moved ornaments around on my shelf in a different order (I even just switched some of them so they were on opposite sides, or changed candles over so they were in a line differently), this all helps to create a new feel to the room and overall a new feel to you. Clear out

I truly believe that changing around your room, no matter how small, really helps towards developing yourself in mind and in spirit too. If you think about it, you stare at the same four walls every night (unless you live a life of mystery), so of course eventually those walls and its surroundings are going to start to wear on you and be a bit boring, or you’ll feel stuck in groundhog day every day that you wake up. So changing your scenery really helps to stop that as well as (which brings me to my next point) help to create a fresh start, or a ‘new you’.

5. Decide that tomorrow is a fresh start

Losing yourself isn’t necessarily a bad thing. If you’ve gone the past few days thinking you’re not good at anything and you never will be, or if you think you’ve made so many mistakes, say to yourself starting tomorrow morning, I’m going to be better, and try harder. It gives you a new goal to focus on and something to constantly strive towards.

Hopefully these 5 tips have helped you out or at least given you some inspiration. If you have any other ideas then feel free to share in the comments bellow 🙂

Until next time, see ya later Bromigo’s.

2 thoughts on “Five things to do when you’re losing yourself

  1. Sometimes when we over think other peoples comments about us,we become blind to our achievements and who we really are and we begin looking at ourselves in the light the person has created.Yes your tips did help give me inspiration.Thank you.

Leave a Reply

