Careful Where You Tread

Today something enlightened me. It’s a thought I’ve had in the past, and it’s a thought I think I’ll continue to have until I’ve finally learnt the lesson – careful where you tread.

I don’t mean this literally of course, I’m not going to be searching the ground before every footstep I make. I mean this in the sense of how we talk to people and conversations. Sometimes life puts us on auto-pilot and we forget that other people are…well people.

Have I just confused you even more? Probably, because I’m confusing myself.

Put it like this, at work today a women requested something but I couldn’t give it to her because she couldn’t find her ID card for the appropriate discount, I was about to roll on about company procedure and how I absolutely refrained from accepting, when she told me that someone passed away today, someone that she knew and my heart broke, I instantly stopped in my tracks and didn’t say about company procedure, I was patient until she found the ID card and I could give her the discount.

This isn’t the first time I’ve nearly put my foot in my mouth. Several times I’ve nearly used a typical everyday expression – e.g break a leg – without thinking that – oh crap you have no legs, oh my gosh I’m so sorry!’ – SEVERAL TIMES. And on MOST occasions I haven’t realised until  AFTER the moments passed and I just sort of ramble and ramble until the other person gets bored of me.

What I’m trying to say is – think before you speak. What may seem automatic and completely ordinary to you, is actually offensive/borderline upsetting for the other person. We each lead different lives, we’re individual’s for a reason.

I hope I’m making sense as I kind of had to rush this blog post.

Until next time, catch ya later Bromigo’s x.

Leave a Reply

