Don’t be good to me, be good to you – Dear No One

If you’re reading this and I saw this on your Facebook wall, virtually kick me and I’ll give you credit for it.

Basically today has a theme, whilst scrolling through Facebook some point today, I saw a post about how someone says to the people they love/like that they shouldn’t be good to them, instead, first, they should be good to themselves.

Do you ever have one of those days where everything seems to be telling you the same thing? Like throughout your entire day something/someone keeps subconsciously pointing you in a direction, that leads to a theme that everything and everyone else is pointing out to you also?

Well I do. And today’s theme seems to be ‘look after yourself’.

My friend Hannah recently posted this song into our group conversation with my other bestie. And it wasn’t until today that I got the chance to listen to it.

Now aside from the gushy wanting of a man in her life, the singer has a point, she sings “So if you’re out there, I swear be good to you.” Her whole song is about her future boyfriend possibly being out there, and how she hasn’t found him yet, so if he’s out there, she just wants him to take care of himself. So he’s ready by the time he gets to her.

Which leads me to think, surely we want that for everyone, including ourselves? I don’t know about you, but most of the time I’m pretty hard on myself, it’s part of the struggle of being a perfectionist, and if I haven’t reached perfectionism then I talk myself down, and beat myself up emotionally.

The song my friend liked, and all the other random things that have happened today, reminded me that I should be good to myself. Treat myself, instead of talking myself down, talk myself up. Sometimes we just get so caught up in the moment, so caught up in life, in all the big drama’s and scary milestones that are coming up, that we forget to just…breathe.

So here’s my own message inspired by the wonderful Tori Kelly:

Dear No One (You)

Life is scary, we’re born, we live, we die. Sometimes it seems like a cycle that’s pointless…but I’m asking you to think. We meet so many scary hurdles in our life, go through so many battles, (some more than others), that we don’t really take a chance to step back.

So, You, I’m asking you to take a step back, breathe, tell yourself that you’re going in the right path. And if you’re in the wrong path? Change it. Trust your gut, but don’t put pressure on yourself to trust it wholly. You’re allowed to make mistakes everybody does, don’t be hard on yourself when you make mistakes.

Be good to yourself, treat yourself, reward yourself. You’re you for a reason, you need to celebrate that every now and again.

Lots of Love and Hugs,

A stranger you probably haven’t even met before.

Catch ya next time Bromigo’s x.

4 thoughts on “Don’t be good to me, be good to you – Dear No One

  1. 🙂 I’d love to repost this part on my blog and link back here for the rest 🙂

    “Life is scary, we’re born, we live, we die. Sometimes it seems like a cycle that’s pointless…but I’m asking you to think. We meet so many scary hurdles in our life, go through so many battles, (some more than others), that we don’t really take a chance to step back.

    So, You, I’m asking you to take a step back, breathe, tell yourself that you’re going in the right path. And if you’re in the wrong path? Change it. Trust your gut, but don’t put pressure on yourself to trust it wholly. You’re allowed to make mistakes everybody does, don’t be hard on yourself when you make mistakes.

    Be good to yourself, treat yourself, reward yourself. You’re you for a reason, you need to celebrate that every now and again.”

    Similar to my homepage by the way 🙂
    http://verakasi.wordpress.com

    • I wouldn’t mind that at all, I’m glad you like my words :3 Thank you so much!
      That section on your homepage is beautiful! I see we’re both trying to get across a similar message 🙂

  2. Pingback: Dear No One (You) | [ Being a Human Being.]

Leave a Reply

