REVIEW: The Flash – “Fastest Man Alive”

Season: 1
Episode: 2
Air Date (UK): 04/11/14
Directed By: David Nutter
Writers: Story by: Greg Berlanti & Andrew Kreisberg
             Teleplay by: Andrew Kreisberg & Geoff Johns

Before I start I have to admit that I haven’t seen the pilot episode as I missed it, and I haven’t read the comics. To be honest when I saw the title Flash, I thought of this:

But moving on.

For someone who hasn’t watched the pilot episode, it was very easy to follow. There was a few guessing games here and there of who was who, but because it’s only the second episode, there was still a lot of character development that was going on, so there was lots of FLASHbacks (pardon the pun), of Barry’s fate. Plus I’ve watched Arrow season 2 where Barry Allen and co was first introduced so I already knew the background.

The episode in a round about way deals with Barry’s personal struggles with his developing superpowers. He has a whole scientific team keeping an eye on him and all of his glucose and other health levels. But he declined to inform them of how he kept getting black outs and feeling weak. On top of this he has an emotional battle with the man who brought him up disagreeing with his superhero ways, which in turn, makes Barry doubt himself when it comes to kicking some bad peoples asses.

“Fastest Man Alive” was enjoyable to watch and wasn’t too over dramatic. For someone who hasn’t watched the pilot it was easy to follow, it had a problem, plot twist, and a solution. It was the perfect combination of plot even with a cliff hanger at the end that leaves you clinging to your seats for more or at least a preview of the next episode.

The romantic interest in the story was interesting, and I liked that once again the CW have released a show where it’s major plot line isn’t about the romance between two people, it’s about the action and personal struggles of our hero, it’s about his journey and his story, with romantic undertones slipped in between.

However I did find it interesting of who the directors and writers chose to have as Barry’s love interest, or at least what they’re leading us to believe and think.

Barry’s ‘sister’, Iris (I think that’s her name). It’s not his sister sister, they grew up together after her dad took him in and treated Barry like his own son, but I still find it interesting that this has been hinted, either that or I’m reading the signs wrong. REMEMBER I haven’t read the comics, so I could be completely wrong.

Improvements? To be honest there wasn’t much that needed improving, the only thing I would say is that the villain was maybe put away a bit too easily, but that’s the smallest bug bear that I’d say. I’m really excited for the next episode and rest of the series, but not as excited as I am for Arrow or Supernatural.

4.5 stars out of 5 given.

This is my first proper review guys, any tips or advice for improvement would be helpful. Thank you!

Until next time, catch ya later Bromigo’s x.

(feature image from zap2it, originally from CW).

Leave a Reply

