Holding Emotions In – Learning Lessons from YOU

In life there’s always something new to learn about ourselves, or at least that’s what I’ve gotten from my 21 years of life experience so far, but it’s also what a lot of generations have told me. “You’ll always surprise yourself with what you can do.” There are no limits, there are no real expectations.

Today I relearned something about myself – I hold my emotions in. Recently in my life I thought I wasn’t really affected by something, but it wasn’t until I got super sensitive about some stuff that I started crying…and I couldn’t stop. That’s when I remembered – I pretty much hold all of my emotions in until information sets in my brain. I guess it’s like a coping process or whatever.

At this point you’re probably wondering why I’m even telling you any of this. Well to be honest, it’s to prove my point. Albert Einstein once said that the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. When it comes to learning stuff about ourselves, something where we want to change the end result, then we have to do something different about it.

The last time I held all of my emotions in, or ‘dealt’ with stuff by beating myself up and telling myself that I wasn’t doing enough, I fell into the deep dark hole of mild depression and anxiety. Not to mention my stress levels were through the roof. Which lead me to have two weeks signed off sick by my doctor.

So what am I going to do different this time in a difficult situation? I’m not going to beat myself up. Before when I cried I’d tell myself that it made me weak, it made me be less of a person. But now? Now I see that it’s the exact opposite. It makes me more of a person, it shows I have compassion, and it shows that I care about stuff. It makes me more human. Not only that but crying is an emotional release, sometimes crying helps more than we’d all like to admit.

I know to some people this will seem stupid “You’re literally talking about crying, what’s so bad about that?” To that I say everyone is different, some people are more sensitive, some people are battling more inner demons than they’d like to admit. The point of why I write about it is to know that: A I’m not alone, B, other people who are going through something similar know they’re not alone, and can see someone dealing with it. so maybe it will help them get ideas on how to deal with their current situation. And lastly C, it’s a way of coping myself. My main emotional release is writing. Other people prefer to draw, others prefer a tub of ice cream whilst watching crappy TV. Everybody’s different.

So Bromigo’s my challenge to you today is, to not beat yourself up if you’re going through a tough time. Learn from previous mistakes and act on a difficult situation differently to last time.

Until next time Bromigo’s, I’ll catch ya later x.

4 thoughts on “Holding Emotions In – Learning Lessons from YOU

Leave a Reply

