Realising Your Own Procrastination

There are 24 hours in each day, that’s a fact. Most people get around 7-9 hours of sleep a night. Let’s just even that out and say 8 hours of sleep everyone gets, that leaves 16 hours for you to have during the day.

Let’s take this a step further.

The typical shift is 9 hours. That leaves 7 hours left of your day. Take away an hour for dinner and an hour for breakfast – 5 hours. Then you account for travel time, the local businesses here take about 20 minutes to get to, so there and back that’s 40 minutes. But for the purposes of this ramble, let’s just take another hour off. 4 hours.

Now I know everyone’s different, so let’s also do a version for students.

The typical school day (9-5) or (9-4) lasts 6-8 hours. That’s only 2-3 hours away from a working day shift.  That’s 2-3 hours that they get extra.

So college/students free time: 5-7 hours

Work: 4 hours.

Something occurred to me very recently, and that’s that everyone I speak to always seems to be busy. And I don’t mean that in a “WHY YOU ALWAYS BUSY” way, I mean, they seem to WANT to be busy, but then complain that they have no time on their hands.

Well clearly, 4 hours, they do.

I’m guilty of it too though, and I’m the lucky few that gets 5 hours free during a day. But sometimes I sit and think “what have I actually used those 5 hours for?”

And most the time, it’s procrastination, I sit on my laptop, and scroll through Facebook or Twitter, or YouTube. Don’t get me wrong it’s good to do that, probably healthy even to have some time out. But I often find myself kicking my own butt because procrastination takes over, and it feels like all my limbs are glued together, and all my energy goes.

It wasn’t until I looked at YouTubers who have a day job as well as manage to make a vlog EVERYDAY, that I decided to do the math and work all this out. When I discovered I have 55 hours free time during the whole week. 55! That’s excluding sleep time!! What the hell do I do during that 55 hours?!

And that, my friends, is how I realised my own procrastination. A habit that i need to break. A habit that can go away! Now when I go to my laptop my aim is to do one of the following:

  • college work
  • YouTube work
  • Blogging

With breaks in between (because nobody likes a workaholic, and having breaks is healthy, which means I can use that time to search multiple videos of cats falling over and laughing at them because they’re not hurt, but stupid), and hopefully, hopefully, some productivity can happen. Like raw steam powered productivity. Yeah.

That’s…probably going to be covered in a separate blog post.

I guess I’m lucky enough that I only have me to worry about, and that gives me the ability to have all this free time! If you’re one of the lucky few too, don’t waste the time, get up and get moving!

 

3 thoughts on “Realising Your Own Procrastination

Leave a Reply

