How to: KICK YOUR OWN ASS – #MotivationMonday

It’s time to get pumped!

Yes. You. You can do the thing. Wait, what’s that? You…you can’t do the thing? NO EXCUSES. DO IT.

JUST. DO. IT.

Do I sound like Shia yet?

Shia-LaBeouf-really-wants-you-to-justdoit

Seriously though, motivating yourself can be damn hard. Some days you just don’t wanna do the thing. And that’s okay. Really. Give yourself a break, veg out, listen to your body. But if you find yourself not doing the “thing” that you really want to do regularly, and that “thing” is going to make you happy and positive, and give you a general good step in the right direction, then why aren’t you doing it?

I guess the first question you have to ask yourself is, why haven’t you done it yet? Is it genuine lack of motivation, depression, an illness? If so, then make today the first step in the right direction. Do ONE thing that kick starts you. Gee yourself up in a way that’s going to make you REALLY want to do the thing. For me, I read blog posts, or I listen to a hella rad song (and recently that’s been Halsey), then I’m instantly motivated to get up and do something. I kick my own ass and DO IT.

Shia would be proud.

(If it’s mental illness or other health problems, then I really would advise speaking to someone first, because before you go off on adventures, it’s a good idea to make sure that you’re happy with you, and that you’re in a good place.)

But there’s that other possibility, the other reason you haven’t done it yet. And that might be that you don’t actually want to do the thing. Because when you think about it, that thing might not be a great thing, or it might not sit right, or you just might have no interest in it at all. And that’s okay too.

I guess before you can kick your own ass, you have to figure out what it is you actually want, sit and have a conversation with yourself if that’s what it takes. For me I write down everything I want to do, then sit and look at it and prioritise others over another, depending on how much I actually want to do it. And generally speaking I measure it with how excited I get over the project. This blog post right now is one of those things, I’ve had the day at college so now I’m sat writing this because I REALLY wanted to write it.

Find the thing that you really want to do. Then tell yourself everyday that you’re going to do it, no matter what. If you get a distraction? That’s cool, don’t beat yourself up over it. Just either stop immediately, then go and do the thing, or finish the distraction and then go and do the thing immediately. Don’t tell yourself “oh I’ll do it later”. Tell yourself “I AM going to do it, as soon as I’ve finished this.”

Even if you end up spending just five single minutes doing the task that you’ve set yourself, that’s just as amazing. Why? Because it’s a step in the right direction. Baby steps are better than no steps. You don’t learn to run before you can walk.

And that’s the most important part I believe, rewarding yourself. If you don’t reward yourself at all, then why would you bother doing it again? It’ll be harder to motivate yourself to do it the next day.

So go forth my friends, conquer your tasks, live out your dreams, and take each day at a time!

2 thoughts on “How to: KICK YOUR OWN ASS – #MotivationMonday

Leave a Reply

