Guilty Fandom Fashions

Do you ever watch a TV programme, then find yourself suddenly styling your outfits to match a certain character without even realising it? For example, when I marathon’d Pretty Little Liars, I suddenly found myself walking round shops, picking up nail varnish and purses that I wouldn’t normally go for and thinking to myself “Well this is cute”, and then looking at a top and thinking the same, before I quickly realised that it was probably something that Hanna or Emily would wear.

Thanks you gorgeous girls you.

PLL fashion

I’ve never been one to pride myself in fashion, especially high fashion, usually I just stick on a pair of skinny jeans, grab the nearest plaid, and/or top, and then head out the door. Caring more about how frizzy my hair is than anything else. Recently though, I’ve discovered that after watching certain TV programmes, I’m guilty of choosing certain clothes because I’ve been influenced by a TV character.

Yep. Pretty lame. But it’s a guilty addiction. Sometimes I even find myself trying to find a jacket or a dress that’s similar to a characters. Most of the times it’s for cosplay reasons, but I digress.

For example:

Cassie

I’ve kind of always admired Britt Robertson’s outfits and styles that her character’s have, and her character Cassie from Secret Circle seriously has the best style. Sometimes it can be a bit whacky and I wouldn’t wear everything that she wears. But I would seriously consider wearing something like the outfit in the photo above. And that’s weird coming from someone like me who lives in denim jeans and leather jackets.

claire novak

Which brings us over to Supernatural. Now I’m no fan of the bootcut jeans, and usually that’s what the female characters wear in this programme (they are awesome just FYI), but Claire (as far as I remember) wears skinny jeans, leather jackets, and a t-shirt, or a plaid. And this is already literally my style, so I guess it’s not really a ‘guilty’ fandom fashion, I guess the only guilty part is that I have a cosplay hoodie that is an exact replica from Claire’s on the show, and I wear it like all the time…yup.

"Love Unexpected" Pictured: Britt Robertson as Lux Photo Credit: Jack Rowand / The CW © 2010 The CW Network, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

“Love Unexpected”
Pictured: Britt Robertson as Lux
Photo Credit: Jack Rowand / The CW
© 2010 The CW Network, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

And here we have Britt Robertson again, Lux, her character has a really awesome sense of style (wow that’s a sentence I never thought I’d write), the top and the jacket above with that necklace is seriously an outfit I’d consider wearing.

Oh my god what is wrong with me. I need to go wear my leather jacket to make me feel more me again.

clemence-poesy-skirt TV-Fasion-Serena-Van-Der-Woodsen-Gossip-Girl-1.1Last but not least we have Gossip Girl, JUST LOOK AT THOSE OUTFITS. Seriously. Like half my style, and half not. That’s why I’m guilty of this one, plus I’m pretty sure all those outfits are hella expensive, so yeah. Won’t be wearing those anytime soon. And I’m pretty sure they’re “out of fashion” because season 1 and 2 were like YEARS ago.

There ya have it bromigo’s.  If I were the type of girl to do ootd’s, or ootm/w, then they would be my outfits.

Buuuuut I’m not.

So instead have a rambly blog post about outfits I don’t own, and how I have a small inner desire to be more involved in outfits. More everyday outfits, than high fashion.

And I’ve just realised this is probably why I like cosplaying certain characters, ‘cos it’s literally my ‘fashion’ half the time. Annnd I’ve also just realised that they all have blonde hair, and pale-ish skin. So really…no comment. I’m too wrapped up in outfits to comment.

With that bombshell, thus ends the blog post.

Catch ya later bromigo’s.

 

2 thoughts on “Guilty Fandom Fashions

Leave a Reply

