Sunday Rambles #4 – Fan-Girl Denial

Happy Sunday folks!

Rambles #4 kinda happened yesterday didn’t it? And the day before that…and the day before that. But you guys seem to be liking this, so I’m just gonna roll with it.

So this past week I’ve been doing some thinking about fan-girls, and fandoms in general. And it came to my attention that I hated being branded as a fan-girl.

Wait a minute.

That may sound straight up rude and weird, but just work with me here.

Why did I hate it? Because most of the time when you say “ugh I’m such a fan-girl” to a complete stranger, or someone who has no passion for TV Shows, they just look at you like you’re a lunatic, and make you feel like it’s something to be embarrassed about. Then naturally, in response, I’d flush a dark red and just sort of cough it out as if my words were never said and I was momentarily possessed to say it.

For a long time this would continue, and I’d hate branding myself as a fan-girl. I’d used to be like “yeah I love the show Supernatural, don’t get me wrong. I go to conventions. But I’m not a huge fan-girl of it” (LOL).

I used to surround myself with those people that would frown upon fan-girlism (is that a thing?) at an attempt to feel “accepted”, or “normal”. When in actuality I was already “normal”, as normal as I can be. And who wants to be normal anyway? Normal’s boring.

Being a fan-girl is something that’s fun, and keeps the passion flaring to do creative art, writing, or vlogs. Is that a bad thing? No. Is that something I should be ashamed/embarrassed about? No.

Fan-girling is fun, and reminds the world that there are good things out there. So yeah. No more shall I brand myself as someone who isn’t a fan-girl, I’m a huge fan-girl, loud and proud. Praise it! And if you’re a fan-girl (or guy) too sing it to the top of the roof.

Okay that last sentence was cheesey, I’ma go now.

 

Leave a Reply

